FileWhopper Help

Find any information you may need about our service here

Errors and issues during the file upload process

While uploading a large file for online sharing, please follow the common rules from this document for a successful transfer. Transmitting files with FileWhopper becomes a breeze if you keep some tips in mind.

To avoid the most common errors, please make sure that you are following the steps below while your file is uploading:
  • Do not remove or change your file’s location!
  • You have an option to pause your upload and resume it on demand.
  • The app’s browsing window can be minimized and the transfer will continue in the background. You can track the transfer progress in your online account.
  • You can share the link and password with the recipient(s) while your upload is still in progress. One download is included in the price unless additional downloads have been purchased.
  • Your 14 days of storage period starts from the moment the upload begins. After that, your file is deleted unless additional days of storage have been purchased.

We’ve collected a list of the most common upload errors and ways to overcome them. Check them all out:
Incorrect password
It is vital that the file owner saves the password that is automatically generated in the upload app, or which they create manually. FileWhopper does not have access to the password and it is never stored on FileWhopper’s servers. The file recipient will be unable to download the transmitted data without the password, which is why we offer the sender to save the password as a .txt file on their desktop. By default, the file is named Your foldername download link and password.txt. Saving the password as a .txt file is optional, but having the password is mandatory for data download. The checkbox to save the password to your desktop is checked by default, but can be unchecked.

The password can be 6 to 64 characters long. If the sender decides to manually create a password, it should fit the length requirements, otherwise an error message will be displayed. Once the upload has started, the sender can copy and share the download link and the password with the recipient. The app supports simultaneous upload and download.
The selected file doesn’t match
“The selected file doesn’t match the one you were charged for. Please select the same file to proceed.”

This error appears when the sender selects a different file for upload and not the one that was used to get the price quote and make payment. The size of the file and the name should also match. In order to proceed, the sender can only choose the file that was initially intended for this particular transfer.
No Internet connection
“It seems there is no Internet connection at the moment. Please check your network settings. The upload will proceed automatically as soon as the issue is resolved.”
Seeing this error means that Internet connection was lost. The upload process is in standby mode and will resume from the same point as soon as connection is re-established.
And in cases when there is no Internet connection for an extended period of time, the user will notice the app making several attempts to resume the transfer on its own. The sender can also click the “TRY NOW” button to manually resume the upload once they’ve confirmed that their PC is connected to the Internet.
Server failure
“It seems there’s a problem with our server. Don’t worry, our technicians are already working to fix it. The upload will proceed automatically as soon as the issue is resolved. If the problem stays, please contact our support team using the online form.”
Seeing this error message does not require the user to take any action. You should not close or delete the app, as the upload will resume automatically as soon as the problem is fixed. If the issue persists, you can submit a support request and get assistance.
Free file upload was deleted
“Your upload failed! It appears that you deleted this upload in your online FileWhopper account.”
This error appears when you order your first free transfer of up to 5GB and then delete it from your account before completing the upload. Please keep in mind that you can only cancel the free transfer, regardless of whether the upload has been started. You may review details on your transfer by clicking the “See details” button in your online FileWhopper account.
Upload failed
“Your upload failed! Your storage period has expired. Click the button below to see more details on your transfer status.”

This error message appears when your file storage period has expired. By default, your transfer is stored on FileWhopper’s servers for 14 days after the upload has been started and is then destroyed automatically, unless additional storage time is ordered.