FileWhopper Help

Find any information you may need about our service here

How to upload your folder

With FileWhopper you can transfer large files or folders with no size limit. In this article, we will feature a step-by-step guide on how to upload a folder for transfer. The service is very easy to use. Here is how you can securely share folders of any size on FileWhopper:
Step 1
First, click to choose or drag and drop your folder onto the CHOOSE FOLDER button on FileWhopper’s home page. Your folder will be uploaded for a price quote based on its size. To be accepted for transfer, the folder must not contain more than 3000 files. If you agree with the price quote, press the CONTINUE button to proceed with your order.
Step 2
Review the details to complete your order: you can change the folder, add some additional services or switch accounts at this step. If everything is correct, then click the CONFIRM & PAY button.
Step 3
After that, go to your personal account and click the START TRANSFER button to download the FileWhopper app. It’s a quick tool that will facilitate your large folder upload (the app will delete itself when the upload is complete).
Step 4
To secure the transfer, your folder will be encrypted with a password. The password is automatically generated inside the app and is not transmitted to our servers; you can also create your own password using anything between 6 and 64 characters. By default, the “Save the password to my desktop as a .txt file” option is checked. This is important, as the password is only stored inside the app and will get deleted upon transfer completion. Then click the PROCEED WITH UPLOAD button.
Step 5
Drag and drop or click to choose the same folder you’ve submitted for a quote, then click the START UPLOAD button. Once the upload starts, you can share the download link and the password with the recipient, as the app supports simultaneous uploads and downloads.

Note: The upload might take some time, especially if you have a large folder.

You have the option to shut down your PC when the upload is finished, which can also be canceled later if needed. Finally, the folder upload is complete and if you haven’t shared the download link and the password with your recipient yet, this is the time to do so! Once you close the app, it automatically gets deleted from your computer. Please double-check that you have saved your password. The download link will be available in your personal FileWhopper account, but the password will not.

Payment for a large folder transfer only covers a transfer to a single recipient, unless additional services are included in the same transaction. If a download is already in progress, the link gets disabled for all other users, unless additional downloads have been ordered and paid for by the file owner. Once the folder is downloaded, it is deleted from the server.
While your folder is uploading:
  • Do not remove or change your folder’s location!
  • To upload a folder, you must have administrative rights to its contents.
  • The folder’s contents are locked and cannot be altered during the upload.
  • The app’s browsing window can be minimized and the transfer will continue in the background. You can track the transfer progress in your online account.
  • You can share the link and password with the recipient(s) while your upload is still in progress. One download is included in the price unless additional downloads have been purchased.
  • Your 14 days of storage period starts from the moment the upload begins. After that, your folder is deleted unless additional days of storage have been purchased.