Find any information you may need about our service here
Transferring an entire system driveFileWhopper lets you transfer files, folders or an entire system drive with no size limit and without having to compress. To have your drive successfully transferred, you should be aware of the following:
Step 1To be accepted for transfer, the drive must not contain more than 3000 files.
Step 2When you upload your system drive to FileWhopper’s website for a price quote, our system will detect that you are trying to send a whole drive and remind you to check if your drive contains files locked by Windows. If it does, the upload will fail, as locked files cannot be sent (for example, files get locked if they are used by another Windows application). Before you proceed to payment, please make sure that the drive you are about to transfer does not contain locked files.
Step 3Once the upload of your system drive has successfully started, you can copy and share the download link and password with the intended recipient(s).
A very important note here for the recipient of a system drive:
- If the recipient selects their system drive to save the downloaded content to, a new subfolder with the drive name will be created to avoid the recipient’s drive data being overwritten with the new data. If the recipient chooses an existing folder or creates a new one, the transferred drive will be saved into that folder.
- If the recipient chooses an existing folder to save the drive, a new subfolder with the drive name will be created to avoid the recipient’s drive data being overwritten with the new data.
While your drive is uploading:
- Do not remove or change your drive’s location!
- To upload a drive, you must have administrative rights to its contents.
- The drive’s contents are locked and cannot be altered during the upload.
- The app window can be minimized and the transfer will continue in the background. You can track transfer progress in your online account.
- You can share the link and password with the recipient(s) while your upload is still in progress. One download is included in the price unless additional downloads have been purchased.
- Your 14 days of storage start from the moment the upload begins. After that, your data is deleted unless additional days of storage have been purchased.