FileWhopper Help

Find any information you may need about our service here

How to upload your file or folder with FileWhopper

With FileWhopper you can transfer large files or folders with no size limit. In this article, we will feature step-by-step instructions on how to upload a file or folder for transfer. The service is very easy to use. Here is how you can securely send files and folders of any size on FileWhopper:


Step 1

First, click to choose or drag and drop your file onto the CHOOSE FILE button on FileWhopper’s home page. If you want to transfer a folder, use the CHOOSE FOLDER button. Your file or folder will be uploaded for a price quote based on its size. The price quote is free and requires no commitment from you.

Chose the file or folder you want to transfer to get a FileWhopper quote
Step 2

Review the details to complete your order: you can change the file or folder, include some additional services or switch accounts at this step. If everything is correct, then click the CONFIRM & PAY button if you want to pay for the transfer yourself, or hit the INVOICE RECIPIENT button if you want the recipient to pay.

Check and adjust your file or folder transfer details on the FileWhopper prepayment page

If you select the CONFIRM & PAY button, you will be redirected to the payment service. Once your payment goes through, you will be able to start your upload.

File or folder transfer payment by sender

If you choose the INVOICE RECIPIENT option,you’ll be asked to enter the recipient's name and email address. FileWhopper will email the payment link to the recipient, and once the payment goes through, you’ll get a notification that you can start the upload.

You can invoice the recipient for your file or folder transfer on FileWhopper
Step 3

After that, go to your personal account and click the START TRANSFER button to download the FileWhopper app. It’s a quick tool that will facilitate your large file upload (the app will delete itself when the upload is complete). Choose the button with a Windows or Apple icon, depending on your Operating System.

Download the FileWhopper app for a fast and secure file or folder transfer
Step 4

To secure the transfer, your file or folder will be encrypted with a password. The password is automatically generated inside the app and is not transmitted to our servers; you can also create your own password using anything between 6 and 64 characters. Then click the PROCEED WITH UPLOAD button.

Use an automatically generated password or create your own to protect transferred data privacy
Step 5

Drag and drop or click to choose the same file or folder you’ve submitted for a quote, then click the START UPLOAD button. Once the upload starts, you can share the download link and the password with the recipient: FileWhopper allows the recipient to start downloading the data while the upload is still in progress. This is very convenient when you need to send a really large file or folder, and the recipient needs it downloaded ASAP.

Note: The upload might take some time, especially if you have a large file.

You have the option to shut down your PC when the upload is finished, which can also be canceled later if needed.

Click on the button or drag and drop your file or folder to start the upload The upload may take some time, if you are sending a large file or folder.

Finally, the file upload is complete and if you haven’t shared the download link and the password with your recipient yet, this is the time to do so! Use the SHARE button to copy, save or email your download link and password. Once you close the app, it automatically gets deleted from your computer. The download link can also be found in your personal account. And please double-check that you have saved your password.

Don’t forget to save the transfer password and share it with the recipient

The payment for a large file or folder transfer only covers a transfer to a single recipient, unless additional services are included in the same transaction. If a download is already in progress, the link gets disabled for all other users, unless additional downloads have been ordered and paid for by the file owner. Once the file or folder is downloaded, it is deleted from the server.


While your file is uploading:
  • Do not remove or change your file or folder location! Do not modify the file, or files in the folder, until the upload is complete.
  • You have an option to pause your upload and resume it on demand.
  • The app’s window can be minimized and the transfer will continue in the background. You can track the transfer progress in your online account.
  • You can share the link and password with the recipient(s) while your upload is still in progress. One download is included in the price unless additional downloads have been purchased.
  • Your 14 days of storage period starts from the moment the upload begins. After that, your file or folder is deleted unless additional days of storage have been purchased.