FileWhopper Blog

News and Perspectives from IT Experts

How to Record and Share Gameplay on The PlayStation 4

By Hanna Welch | August 19, 2019 |

greater than 5 minutes

Did you know that you can record and share gameplay from your PlayStation 4? Easily share the most successful moments of your game online, and transfer them to your computer using our guide.

Your PlayStation has come from afar and now boasts of having some of the best features a gamer could ever need. One of these is the ability to record and share gameplay from your console. The ability to save and share playthroughs and gameplay moments is the highlight of a gaming experience. Most successful gamers live-stream their playthrough on Twitch where a huge following of other gaming enthusiasts is always waiting to witness the new skillsets. Other platforms that gamers take to include Facebook, YouTube and Twitter.

Sharing can be easy but, on some platforms, there are add-ons to be learned. PlayStation 4 came with upgrades and handy tools that facilitate creating and uploading gameplay clips at any point of your game. Once you learn how to make a video on PS4, the convoluted process becomes an easy task that becomes secondary to your gaming life.

Obviously, you need a thorough walkthrough teaching you how to simultaneously play as you record, save and finally share your videos on PlayStation4.

How to Record, Save And Share Videos on PS4

1. Adjust your video settings

Open the Share menu on your PS4 by holding down the Share button on your controller. Once the menu opens, you should be able to change, alter and control various settings for sharing content created on your PlayStation 4, especially the video you are about to record. You can learn how to change any setting that interests you, but first, go to the Set Video Length Menu to prepare your console to record the same length of your video clips. After the menu opens up, set the length of the video to be recorded once you press the share button. The default record time that comes with the PlayStation 4 is 15 minutes. You can reduce this to as little as 30 seconds or increase to as long as 60 minutes.

2. Start gameplay process

After completing adjustment on settings, start your game. This is actually easy to do. To record your game, you can choose to either capture the entire play process or only record something just after it happens.

The first option lets you record when you hit the Share button and record for the period specified in your settings, or record till you hit the Share button once again.

When using the second method, you get to record something just after it happens. Automatically, your console saves the last 15 minutes of gameplay from your play session. In other words, should you unexpectedly make an amazing move and want to watch it again after playing, you can pause the game and watch the clip that recorded the last 15 minutes of the play-through.

3. Begin the recording process

You can record a video on your PS4 by pressing the ‘Record’ button, which is activated by pressing the Share button twice, the same way you would double-click a mouse. The recording starts at that point for the period you have set up during the Settings adjustment stage. To stop recording, again, double-press the Share button. The clip is saved under the ‘Capture Gallery’ folder on the PS4 home screen.

Check that the game you’re recording runs well without automatically disabling recording features. Games such as Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain are known to automatically disable the recording feature as a means of preventing you from leaking spoilers. Fortunately, you can use a capture card to get around such games instead of the built-in share features that come with the PlayStation 4.

4. Save the last 15 minutes of your recorded video

Thankfully, the PS4 consoles automatically save the last 15 minutes of gameplay. Even if you didn’t press the Record button, just know that at any moment during your gaming, you can pause and look at footage from the last 15 minutes. These are always saved in the console’s video cache. If you didn’t record, but your sticker just dribbled the ground from post to post, you can still go to the cache and grab the sweet moment.

Saving and accessing the last 15 minutes of gaming is easy. To save footage, hold down the Share button to open the menu. From the Share menu, click on Save Video Clip or alternatively hit the Square button. Your video is saved to the Capture Gallery where it is stored and can be accessed. You can immediately post it to social media to share your cool moves with your peers.

Be careful! In case you double press the Share button to start saving the video, the current 15 minutes in the console cache are written over. You delete the footage. So, before initiating the recording feature, first, check and retrieve the 15 minutes and start playing afresh.

5. Trim the video clip

You can edit the captured video clip to desired specifications when sharing it. This might be necessary as platforms such as Twitter require a video length of 1 minute 59 seconds max, while Instagram only uploads 59 seconds of video. In any case, you might want to just trim your video and only keep the part that is the highlight of your game.

You can access the Trim feature either from your Capture Gallery or from the Share Video Clip menu under the Share menu. During the trimming session, you are able to see the length after the video has been trimmed, and select the time intervals as you trim. View the preview and if you are happy with the final product, you can either save the trimmed version or straight up upload it to your chosen social media platform.

6. Share Your Video

Now that you know how to record, save and trim your video, it’s about time you learned how to share videos on PS4. You can share on social media or on dedicated platforms such as Twitch where other gamers stream their experiences.

Alternatively, you can share your video with a select few. You can even skip the trimming process if your footage is that good, upload your video to your PC after reading the last step, then upload it online via FileWhopper. Copy the link from FileWhopper and share it with one or several people you want to have access to your video. Once accessed, your video is automatically deleted after 14-days, so you might want to go ahead and permanently save it on your external hard drive for longer ownership.

7. Keep your Video Saved on Your Computer

Should you not be interested in sharing your video online, you can always have it on your PC. From your console, transfer the video to either a flash or external hard drive, then to your computer. Your PlayStation has USB ports where you can directly connect and copy to a USB Storage Device. It’s up to you how you store your videos on your PC for safekeeping or memories as you replay them.

Share it:
Do you like this post?
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (1 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)
Loading...